h1

Something Blue

June 1, 2011

I’m going to veer away from the topic of underwear briefly, to talk just a little bit about shoes….a pair of Manolos to be precise.

Now I, (along with many other women) adored, and in fact still adore, the award winning TV series, ‘Sex and the City’. Anyone who has watched it knows that Carrie Bradshaw; the very relatable protagonist, LOVES Manolo Blahnik shoes. Among my favourite episodes is ‘A Woman’s Right to Shoes’. If you haven’t watched it, you really should, it’s fabulous!

Even though I don’t believe the ‘Sex and the City’ movie to be even remotely as fantastic as the TV series was, I completely fell in love with the (sweetly named) ‘Something Blue’ Manolo Blahnik shoes, that signify both the end, and beginning, of a significant part of Carrie and Big’s relationship.

Sex and the City; The Movie

As much of a cliche as it sounds, my fandom of both ‘Sex and the City’, and of Manolo Blahnik footwear, made me desperately want to wear these same gorgeous blue shoes (probably hidden under my big white dress) on my own wedding day; which fingers crossed, will be about a year from now.

Oh long have I tried to get hold of these shoes, whether real, or just a good pair of fakes, I just wanted a pair I could actually afford. Sadly, having just finished (almost) a Media degree, I don’t have much money to spare on things like expensive (yet beautiful) shoes… *sighs*
A few of times I have even been conned on ebay trying to get these shoes (thank God for paypal disputes!) and it has really worn me down.
A little while ago, a friend of mine told me about a strange site called ‘ioffer‘ – it seems a bit dodgy, but somehow, it was just what I was looking for.

Exciting Box...

A few weeks later, I now have a pair of these fabulous shoes! Now of course, I’m sure they must be fakes, but to my untrained eye, they look real, and being a girl who generally lives in fairyland anyway, I don’t mind if they are. To me, they are more real than I could have dreamed.

'Something Blue'

Anyway, I just wanted to share this with you all, and any other girl who dreams of owning those fabulous blue shoes that Carrie accidentally leaves in her dream house.

Dream Shoes...

Hopefully my little something blue, will bring us luck on the big day, and for the future. 🙂

Love

Sophia xxx

5 comments

  1. I love love love those shoes!! My dream shoes are a pair of Louboutins! Did you get your Manolos off ioffer in the end? I know they do Loubies (replicas) on there too! x


    • Ah glad you like them too!! Yeah I did get them from ioffer, it seemed so dodgy, and I was sure I wouldn’t ever receive them..but here they are! xx


  2. They look amazing! Can’t wait to see the wedding dress you wear with them now! x


    • Aah me too, can’t wait until it’s made – currently I only have a sketch! 😛 x


  3. I’m so glad I found your blog!! These are simply stunning and I too covet a pair. I’ve found them on ioffer but have been afraid to get them. You had a decent transaction tho so that’s helpful. Do you by chance remember the seller you chose? How do they fit? I see they tend to be in half sizes. Thank you for blogging this!!!



Leave a Reply

