h1

The Emily Bra

July 22, 2011

A little while ago, I fell in love with the very beautiful Emily bra by Curvy Kate.

Curvy Kate - Emily Bra

I’ve had the Emily in ‘Flame’ for a little while, and I am constantly trying to stop myself from wearing it everyday, so as not to wear it out too quickly!

It’s has beautiful lace floral detailing on the sheer top half of the cup, which turns into delicate little points along the edge of the bra. It’s these pretty little details that make a piece of underwear so special. The cups are also very supportive, and I could happily wear this day in day out, for any occasion.

Curvy Kate - Emily 'Flame'

I decided to get the matching briefs in a size 16, as most of the Curvy Kate shorts do come up a little small. They’re very comfortable, also with the same lovely detailing.

Recently I managed to get hold of the Emily in ‘Lavender Blue’. I was very excited about this, as it was one version I had struggled to find in my size. I was told about an online lingerie company called Celebrar who were having a half price sale with lots of available sizes (I thoroughly recommend having a browse).

Curvy Kate - Emily 'Lavender/Blue'

Having purchased the ‘Flame’ in a 32G, I felt I could go still go a band size smaller, so I bought the ‘Lavender’ in 30GG. I find Curvy Kate unpadded bras very true to size, which is vastly different from their padded bras – keep that in mind if you do decide to buy one.

Currently, the Emily comes in Flame, Lavender/Blue, Aqua/Ivory, Black and White.
It has been in different colours in previous seasons, so you may find the odd one on ebay. I am really excited about the Emily ‘Grape’, which will be available this coming Autumn, and it will also be available in Nude. Keep an eye out next summer for the Coral/Blush version!

Curvy Kate - Emily 'Grape'

I leave for a much needed holiday on monday, so it may be a little while before I can post again. However, fear not, because I will have lots of bikini recommendations when I return (having tested out my recent purchases!)

Love

Sophia xxx

42 comments

  1. You are just gah, so perfect looking 😦


    • Sweet thing of you to say, but nah not so much in real life πŸ˜› xxx


  2. Beautiful!


    • Yes, I think it’s a beautiful bra too – can’t get enough of them!


  3. Hi Sophia, great post as always, make sure you get the most out of your holiday with your partner and have a lovely time!
    Look forward to your professional standard journalistic views when you return,all the best, Ru.


  4. Thanks Ru – I hope you’re well! πŸ™‚


  5. You should have won Star in a Bra. You would have represented Curvy Kate very well.


    • Aw thank you! That’s a very kind thing to say πŸ™‚ x


  6. Hi Sophia, thank you for asking, I’m getting by reasonably well! Hope you’re having a great time on your hols and agree with Angela that you should’ve been up there and challenging for the title!
    All the best, Ru.


    • Glad to hear it Ru, and thank you, very sweet of you.
      It’s 37 degrees here, so bit warmer than I’m used to! πŸ™‚


  7. So after I commented on the Christina Hendricks post, I realized you are from the UK, and most of the lovely stores and brands you talk about are not available in the US. Sad face. Sad face a lot.

    Do you have any resources at hand for those of us across the pond? Blogs, shops, etc?


  8. You look fantastic ! I’m jealous πŸ™‚

    When you say that the Curvy Kate bras aren’t so true to size when it comes to padded bras, what do you mean by that ? Does it tend to run big or small ? I plan on ordering the thrill me and princess ones and I’m a bit lost (especially since I’m french and we don’t have the double letters cup sizes, but normally I need a 36H, mais I don’t even know if the difference between GG and H is half a cup or a cup size ?)

    Thanks!


    • Hi Melanie,
      Thank you, you’re very kind to say that. Yes unfortunately it is a bit confusing with the double letters. Don’t worry, there are no half sizes. The bras sizes run as: A, B, C, D, DD, E, F, FF, G, GG, H, HH, J, JJ, K. The back-size should be the closest measurement to your under-bust (so double check with a tape measure for the band size). With Curvy Kate padded bras like the thrill me and tease me, the cup sizes runs small, and the band size runs big. So for example I normally wear a 32G, in thrill/tease me bras, I wear a 30H. So effectively I go down a backsize, and up two cup sizes. Does that make sense at all? I hope that helps! πŸ™‚


  9. Thanks a lot for your quick answer! It does help a lot (and it totally makes sense), and I finally ordered them thanks to you.

    And thanks for your blog generally speaking, it made me discover a few brands and it’s always have to have opinions on the fit, the quality etc. And I appreciate your fashion posts too (especially since I’m a vintage fashion enthusiast).


    • Very glad to hear that, and so pleased I was able to help. Let me know how you get on, I hope they all fit!


  10. Received them in the mail today. They all fit and they’re lovely ! I’m officially in love with that brand. Without you, I would have picked the wrong sizes, so thanks a lot!!


    • Oh I’m so glad to hear that Melanie! Thanks for letting me know! πŸ™‚ x


  11. […] Princess bra is very true to size. It comes up very slightly tighter in the cup than the Emily bra, but otherwise is a very similar fit. Detailing as always is stunning, and it is very comfy […]


  12. found your website on yahoo and was just what i was looking for, keep it up πŸ™‚


  13. Hello Sophia,

    Thank you for doing this blog. The detail you enclose makes your site one of my favourites. I’ve learnt a lot from your photos- how each bra shapes us differently.

    However can I ask a fitting question?

    A 34 H fits me well in the CK unpadded range. I particularly like Angel and Emily. I thought I’d jazz up a bit and try thrill me and tempt me. I cannot find my size in them. I agree with you a 32 back fits wonderfully. But there’s not quite enough room at the sizes of the cup in thrill me. I feel like I’m bubbling out at the front of tempt me but not in the bottom of the cup enough. Do you think I’m going to have to wait for a 32 J to come out? If so, would I fill the cup enough? I ask this because I’m wondering what the top section of my breast should look like in these styles of bra. Some look like marie antoinette and others look longer and flatter overall, front on. Is this breast shape related or a bra fitting issue?

    Hope you are well and having a good Jan 2012
    Laura


    • Hi Laura, I think the Thrill Me and Tease Me bras work differently for different women. I also have difficulty with them because I’m fuller on the bottom than on the top of my breasts. I found that the 30GG was too small in the cup for me, and the 30H slightly too big. You may find that a 32J (when it comes out) could be the perfect fit. Georgina Horne tested out a J cup prototype of the Tease Me on her blog, so she may have some info on the sizing for it. Sorry I can’t be more help than that! X


  14. LOVE Curvy Kate and the message to embrace your curves and be proud of them! Not enough of it in the States!


  15. hi i live in europe ,i love curvy kate,here we dont have them i try 28HH and the cups is small the central gore doesnt sit flat my figger get in the same is the 28J now iam waiting the 30J ,my mesurements is 28 back with 39,5 ..40 some days can you help?


    • Hi Maria, yes, 28J would be the next size to try, you could try a 30HH too as that would be the equivalent of a 28J, 30J might be too big in the cup. Let me know how it goes!


  16. hi i dont receive them yet ,iam waiting them,is the 30J very big in the cups? with my mesurements what size i chooze? in the unpadded bras i think iam 30H or 30HH but i dont receive them too.i know that the central gore must sits flat between my breastbone but this dont do it.i love thrill me and tease me .the colours have any differents between them ,i mean the same size but different colour must be same?


  17. hi you are right it was big a little in the cup the ribbons stand up not to my brusts what can i do


    • It sounds like you need a 30HH or 28J. Have you tried either of those sizes? If you cannot return them, perhaps you can get the ones you have altered to fit you better.


  18. yes i try them .the 30J the lace that has in the cups[up] stand up ,not to my busts why?i try 28J and the central gore doesnt sits flat between my breast i dont know the 30HH


    • 30J is the equivalent of a 28JJ which sounds like it is too big. First you need to work out which band size is more comfortable, 28 or 30. The easiest way to test this is to put the bra on backwards so the cups don’t confuse you. Once you know which band is better, then you work out if you need one size up or one size down. Make sense?


  19. hi i am between the backs my back is 29 ,i dont know , do you know the lace why stand up?what is your opion about the back?both backs are ok i confuse,must i try both?look in unpadded bras like princess i am 30H ,the only bad with this style is the straps they are very hard.


    • I see, ok, yes then in some brands 28 will be better, and 30 in others. I can only suggest trial and error – so you just have to test a few sizes around the ones you have tried to find the best fit. If you don’t find one that fits well, then perhaps that style doesn’t work for your shape. In which case, try a different style of their bras. I’m not quite sure what you mean about the lace


  20. hi the tease me has around the cups a little lace ,this lace stand up .it doesnt sit to my front place of bust .look the 30J the central gore sits between my breast bone


    • Perhaps that’s just how the shape of the bra works on your breasts.. If you don’t mind it, then I wouldn’t worry about it. If its uncomfortable, then you must either try a different size or a different style :S


  21. what size i try?i think if this bra has size 28JJ that would be the perfect fit because in this styles i am 28 back.any way the lace is wrong stand up or with washing its be ok.i have one problem with unpadded bras it is the first time that i try them and from the lace of bra my breasts are itching very much


    • Maria, what size are you in other brands and do they work? Maybe Curvy Kate bras simply do not suit. Your breasts may be too wide or narrow x


  22. in my country we dont have sizes .they started from 32 backs until F cup the only bigest cup is the F we have G from 38 backs ,thats why i start to looking from internet,the only brand that i have was gossard .now i try panache but back from 32 and cup F


  23. hi again i have the new tease me pink -ivory in size 28J and you are right this is my size ,i try the 30HH but i put it in the third hooks ofcourse its big in the back and i sent it back ,in princess i am 28HH ,i bought the tease me in blue -ivory too ,but it has a poblem with the hooks an d i sent it back [they sent me a new one]i want to ask you the fleurty when will be avaible ,and is like the tease me in confort and style? thank you again you are right


    • I’m so glad you’ve finally found your size. I believe the fleurty (blue/pink) is available now, as I have even seen some on eBay. Unfortunately I haven’t had the chance to try one yet, but I’ll let you know what the sizing is like when I do πŸ™‚


  24. hi ok iam waiting when you try it i dont see it anywhere i as amazon and brastop and they didnt have it if you learn something let me know


  25. hi thanks for the link .what size i chooze?the same with tease me and thrill me .do you know anyone who try it


    • Yeah I have heard it’s similar in size to the tease me bra – I haven’t tried it yet.



Leave a Reply

