h1

Ewa Michalak – Heavenly Bras

October 3, 2011

Ewa Michalak, the well-known Polish bra company, has really got me hooked. Their bras never fail to be well constructed, beautifully designed, and most importantly, comfortable.

While their products are great, and the staff are always polite, they do have one big flaw. They are quite strict and rigid about returns, even just after their 10 day return policy has elapsed, even for someone in a different country, and even for loyal regular customers. However, when it comes to great lingerie, I can put aside my feelings about the person running the company (perhaps put it down to cultural differences), and admire the underwear for what it is – fabulous.

This is the HM Granatowy Motyl bra. I tried it in a 65GG (30GG) as I had heard the back band wasn’t one of their firmest. I’m very glad I went for that size as it does fit perfectly. 

HM Granatowy Motyl - 65GG (30GG)

I was immediately enticed by the colour and design whilst browsing their website, so I very much wanted to test this bra out. The cups are made with just a single sheer piece of delicate lace – so delicate in fact, I was concerned it would rip under the strain of my breasts! Lucky for me, the design of the bra, as usual, is perfect. Somehow not only does it hold me up, but it’s actually fairly supportive. I wouldn’t exactly run much in this bra, for fear of falling out of the top, but for work I would actually wear it all day long. It’s also wonderfully comfortable. 
To add to the very beautiful detail on this bra, there’s a little blue butterfly stitched onto one of the straps. If I didn’t know better, I’d think this bra was made for me!

The next Ewa bra is the Czarny Strapless (one I have been promising to try for a while!) Now unfortunately I got this is a 70G (32G) which was just too loose in the band for me, and for a strapless, that’s the worst thing to have.
Due to a miscommunication, I wasn’t able to return this to them within the allotted return period, and am now unable to send it back. I may sell it on ebay, so if this is your size, keep an eye out!

Czarny Strapless - 70G (32G)

It’s very comfortable, and surprisingly gives quite good cleavage and lift for a strapless bra. The inside looked a bit like polystyrene when I first saw it, but somehow, whatever material is used, it works wonderfully. 

CH Onyx - 65GG (30GG)

Last but not least, the CH Onyx bra, which is actually a multiway bra. The straps are removable, and it can be turned into a halterneck. I had heard again that the band was stretchy, so got this in the usual 65GG (30GG). It is a perfect fit, and very comfortable. It actually comes with padded inserts that are removable, so if you want a little extra va va voom on a night out, this definitely gives you that option. 

CH Onyx - Halterneck Style

As lingerie goes, Ewa Michalak is high up on my list of favourites. If you’re not overly concerned about returns or customer service, then definitely order with them. The quality of their lingerie is exceptional high, and I will continue to be a regular customer.

Love

Sophia xxx

27 comments

  1. I just ordered 3 bras from Ewa Michalak – PL Perelka, PL Black, and CH Onyx. I was nervous about getting the wrong size, but from everything I’ve read, the cup size is pretty standard, so I went with my usual 30GG. That is what their calculator put me in too, and I also looked on Balkonetka.pl to see how they fit on other ladies. Fingers crossed, they are beautiful.


    • Really? Their bra calculator got your size correct? So far, I haven’t known it get anyone’s size right. It puts me in a 75E (34E) which uses the plus four method, and downsizes my cup by two sizes!
      In any case, hopefully they will be the right size for you, and they do make lovely bras. x


      • I know, right? I will let you know how they are 🙂


      • I think the confusion comes from poor translation. I put my measurements into their calculator and it came out 4 inches larger than my normal size, so my first thought was that it’s just the same as any other “add 4” calculation. However, a lot of their polish fans emphasise that the “tight” underbust measurement is supposed to be taken while breathing out, as tight as physically possible. When I re-entered my measurements, the back size came out 2 inches larger than I normally wear. However, I didn’t trust it so I just ordered my normal size (I bought the black strapless bra) and it’s so tight I can barely fasten it – it’s about 2 inches smaller than most UK brands. In short, the size calculator can give you the correct size for EM bras, but only if you follow their measuring instructions which are not very clear in the English version of the site.


      • I’ll take your word for it about those instructions. For someone who doesn’t speak Polish, then it seems definitely best not to go by their sizing guide. I don’t know about you, but I have found a big mix of tight and looser bands with their bras. I found these three looser, whereas the PL Black and the half cup Toffik which I’ve reviewed in the past, definitely seem tighter.


      • So I received my order – here is what I thought. The bras are beautifully made. The band sizing is quite odd. The PL bras are definitely more like a 28″ band. I measure about 29 – 29.5″ so this is not terrible, but I will get extenders for them until they soften up a little. Normally I prefer a 30″ band for comfort. The cup size is perfect, although the Perelka seems to cut in just a bit at the top of the cup. It also doesn’t give as much cleavage, so is good to wear to work. The Black doesn’t cut in at all, and the lace is really lovely. The CH Onyx band is about the same length as my Freya Decos (30″ band), but I have to wear it on the last hook, because the fabric is much stretchier than the other two. But it gives a really nice rounded shape, and is my favourite of the three. I will buy more of the CH cut for sure. I like the look of the HM styles, but I worry that the wires will go too high on me. I really like the soft cotton lining in the bras as well. Overall, I am really happy with them, but Freya Deco is still my #1 bra.


      • Hi Christy, thanks so much for your comments. It’s really interesting to hear how other girls get on with Ewa bras. Thanks for sharing 🙂 x


  2. Great journalistic prose as usual Sophie, keep up the good work as you’re a natural!
    All the best, Ru.


  3. ❤ ❤ ❤ love it xxx


  4. Hi! I love your blog! It’s been a big help when it comes to bras and bra fitting. I’m in a bit of bind. I ordered two Ewa Michalak bras and they don’t fit but I’m two days over the return date. Do have any idea where I can sell them? They are unworn with tags still attached, I only tried them on. Thank you!


    • Hi Ashley, first of all, do try emailing them. They may still offer you an exchange, you never know 😛
      Other than that, the best place is ebay. What sizes did you order? Were they a really bad fit, or just slightly off?
      Sophia


      • Hi!

        I ordered a 40k and 38kk both fit horribly. The back and bust were way too small. I was able to send back the 38kk bras but I am stuck with the other 2.


  5. Ashley, that size may work for me – I’ve never tried EM and have been wanting to…if you don’t mind emailing me at Marit01@shaw.ca and let me know if you think it’d work and which ones they are, I’m a *real* measurement of 38″ under bust and 50″ fullest…


  6. Hi Sophia,
    I am new to your blog and I love it! Thanks so much for helping and educating women on such an important issue. I have recently found out that I have been wearing the wrong size for many years. I am looking for a great strapless bra in a 28GG. I was wondering if you ever reordered the Czarny Bra in your size. I was thinking about ordering the Czarny in a 65GG, which is what EM’s calculator gave me, but I wanted to get your opinion, and also wanted to see what you think about the sizing for the Comexim bras. Also what is your opinion about sizing on Flirtelle bras?
    Thanks again,
    Caroline.


    • Hi Caroline, yes I did find that the 30GG (65GG) was a perfect fit, so definitely go for the smaller band size rather than bigger. I hope you find the right one, it’s a lovely bra. My second favourite is the deco but of course their limited sizing leaves much to be desired. X


      • Hi Sophia,
        thanks so much for your reply. Since my last post, I have placed an order for a Toffi bra. I sent about 10 e-mails to the Ewa Michelak store. I have also made 4 phone calls, 2 of those I got hung up on because there was no one available to speak English. (they just say: no English Bye Bye). I got a confirmation for my order with the wrong bra size. They did not read my notes and sent the wrong size. I am aware that this partially due to the language barrier. I am frustrated and so sad. I am willing to order again over the phone but they could not help me, and it is also difficult with the 7 hour difference. Anyway I will let you know what happens next.
        Caroline


  7. Hi Sophia,
    I wanted to keep you posted on my experience with the Ewa Michalak store and purchase. I finally got a hold of a super sweet wonderful girl that speaks English, and she was so kind to help me with my order. My problem was resolved, I just now will be patiently waiting for my two orders to arrive. I apologized to them for not able to speak Polish. I live in a small town and I tried to find a translator but could not. Anyway I am glad that i was not willing to give up easily, and I am also grateful for her help.
    Caroline.


    • Hi Sophia,
      I could not wait for your reply because I am so exited, I am over the moon… I got my 60FF strapless Toffi bra today. In record time! I absolutely love it. It is incredible… I do not know just how to describe it. The band fits amazing, I love it. The cups seem a tiny bit small but it will work just fine for my wedding, And I am sure I will now wear strapless dresses because,this bra is so amazing I can bend, run, and, do anything in it, it doest go any where, but yet its very soft. I do not feel it, I am convinced that this is the best strapless ever. I am now looking forward to ordering some more bras. Thank you Sophia if it wasnt for you I would have never placed an order from Ewa Michalak. The girls at Ewa Michalak’ store that helped me over the phone are so sweet and awesome and mainly so patient, they wanted to help me and worked so hard at. I am very thankful to them too. I will tell the whole world where they need to go to get beautiful, quality bras that actually fit like a glove….


      • Hi Caroline, sorry that I wasn’t able to reply to you before now. Im glad the situation was sorted, it can be a real struggle when there’s a language barrier. Generally the staff at Ewa Michalak seem to be helpful, so I’m glad that worked out. Great to hear that the Toffik bra worked for you, it’s definitely a lovely one I agree.
        Anyway, feel free to let me know how any of your other experiences with lingerie companies work out – it’s interesting to hear all the different trials we all have to face when bra buying. xx


  8. I am having trouble accessing the Balkonetka.pl website and registering as a member I keep getting

    “error 400 Your client has issued a malformed or illegal request. That’s all we know. ”

    I am in the Uk is that the problem its a shame as there seem to be so many gorgeous bras being reviewed and I cant get to see them.
    PS Sophia absolutely love your blog its one of my bookmarks now
    xx
    Sarah


    • Hi Sarah, I seem to be able to get onto their website easily enough, but I’ve never ordered from them, so not sure. Have you tried Ewa Michalak? Their website is very easy to use. Hope this helps, and glad you like the blog! 🙂 x


  9. Hi Sophia
    http://translate.google.co.uk/translate?hl=en&sl=pl&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fbalkonetka.pl%2F
    this is the website I am having such problems registering with.
    Seems a shame as without registering you cannot access the review pictures of the bras.
    Any ideas?
    Sarah
    xx
    PS when’s the next blog?


    • I’m not sure Sarah. I seem to be able to see the reviews, are you registered on wordpress or blogger? Perhaps you have to register one of those accounts to view it. Sorry I can’t be more help than that.
      Apologies for the delay on the next blog – I’ve been frantically moving house! I will hopefully write one sometime this coming week! 🙂 x


  10. […] general, I think dealing with Ewa Michalak can be a bit hit-and-miss; this post at Sophia Jenner alludes to less-than-briliant customer service, whereas this post at CurvyWordy details several […]


  11. Hi! I wanted some informations about ewa michalack bra sizes. At gossard I take 32FF or 30G but, for the Charlotte by Parfait by affinitas I had to take a 30H. SO I don’t know how to choose… I’m french so it’s difficult for me… I don’t know if I should take a 30G or 30GG or 32G (At evollove the 32G is almost too small in the cup with padded bra…)

    HELP please! >_<


    • Wenci – my apologies that I wasn’t able to get back to you. I have been out of action for some time! If you still have questions, let me know. x


  12. […] this has helped me out too us uk sizes are different…. funny googled 30G and https://sophiajenner.wordpress.com/20…heavenly-bras/ she doesn't look huge at all to […]



Leave a Reply

