h1

Twelve Gossard Bras of Christmas

December 13, 2011

A few months ago, Simply Yours and Simply Be launched a ‘Get Your Straps Out’ competition – you were asked to send in a photo subtly exposing your bra strap in the most imaginative place. After entering the competition, I was really surprised and over the moon to hear I was picked as one of the lucky winners; the prize being 12 sets of Gossard Lingerie (the equivalent of a years supply!)

I was so excited to be chosen, and thought what better way to test out this lovely underwear, than review it on here. It’s no secret that I’ve often struggled with Gossard, and have previously had trouble finding the perfect fit. This is largely because they don’t make my regular size of 30GG. It is important to note that their bras go no higher than a G cup, and no lower than a 30 band although I do hope this changes one day.

Having tried only 32Gs in their styles in the past, and knowing that they were too loose all over, I felt confident enough to decide on 30G. It was a risk, but a risk I’m glad I took. All the styles I was sent are 30G, and all the pants are a Large.

When the very large box arrived, I was slightly overwhelmed by what a great gift it was. I opened it feeling like it was Christmas morning, to find an array of beautiful and striking garments. I have since been (not so patiently) waiting for my day off to test them out.

There are a total of 12 sets, and what seem to be 5 different styles.

Three Gossard Superboost Laces
Two Gossard Wild Prints
Two Gossard Superboosts
Two Gossard Fleurs
Two Ooh La La’s
And One Gossard Allure

Unfortunately the only full length mirror I have is permanently scuffed, so I’ve taken some more photos of each set on the hanger to give a better reflection of the colour and material. Please do excuse the shoddy full length photos.

Numbers 1, 2 and 3; the Superboost Lace bras.

Gossard Superboost Lace Sets

Superboost Lace - Jade

Superboost Lace - Rouge

Superboost Lace - Black

I found the Superboost Lace bra very sexy, especially with all that lace, but the cup felt a little more like a 30G than some of the others, which meant it was on the small side. Fortunately it’s not so small that I can’t wear it, but I definitely could do with wearing a cup size bigger. The back was nice and tight, definitely a firm 30. I preferred the comfort of the briefs compared to the thong, but I did think the thong looked great alongside the lacey suspender belt!

Numbers 4 and 5; the Wild Print Bras:

Gossard Wild Print Sets

Wild Print - Jade/Brown

Wild Print - Purple/Black

I very much love the Wild Print bras – I think every woman should own at least one animal print undergarment. I’ve tried this style of Gossard bra before, but in a 32G, and the fit was just way off. I’ve discovered it’s actually big in the cup, so to downsize to a 30G was actually spot on (phew!). The colours are bold and exciting, and the 30 back was just perfect, not too loose and not too tight, the briefs were comfy too!

Numbers 6 and 7; the Satin Superboost bras:

Gossard Superboost Sets

Superboost Celebration - Champagne

Superboost Satin - Purple

The Satin superboost bras actually fit surprisingly well. The back was very firm, and the cups were actually quite comfortable. I don’t often wear thongs, but these ones were very soft to the touch. The Celebration set has a little champagne bottle detail on the front instead of the classic ‘G’ detail – a nice added touch!

Numbers 8 and 9; the Fleur bras:

Gossard Fleur Plunge Sets

Fleur - Blueberry

Fleur - Rouge

Possibly my favourite sets out of them all. I am a sucker for blues and purples, so the Blueberry really caught my attention. The red with the black lace edges just looks divine – lingerie heaven!
I found again that the cups and the back fit very well – I definitely wouldn’t want this one in a GG, the G was actually perfect, the back felt very similar to that of the Wild Prints. This time I actually liked the briefs and thong equally. The thong was cut in such a way as to flatter curves rather than cut into them. A great set all round.

Numbers 10 and 11; the Ooh La La bras:

Gossard Ooh La La Sets

Ooh La La Longline Strapless - Ivory

Ooh La La Plunge - Ivory

I got on very well with The Ooh La La plunge bra, the back was tight but not too tight, and the cups just about fit, although I could do with a bigger cup. The strapless, which has some useful removable straps, is a full cup bra – because of this, it meant there was no way I could really fit in to it. It is a lovely garment, but the back was also much tighter compared to the plunge – I think this may be an instance where I could fit into one of their 32G’s, possibly! The suspender belt was lovely, but as I was wearing size large pants, the belt was also a large, but my waist isn’t. Now I know this, next time I order with them I will pick a different suspender belt size for sure!

And last but not least, number 12; the Allure Plunge bra:

Gossard Allure Plunge Set

Allure - Noir

A smouldering and beautiful set, the Allure certainly lives up to its name. There is a sort of nude underlay, which makes it more exciting than being just a simple black bra. I found the cups very small. They were quite stiff which made it less easy to squish myself in, I think even a 30GG would’ve been just about manageable, and probably even in that size I may have wanted to size up. For those who can fit into it, I would recommend it, it feels great on.

With all of these sets, I felt they were supportive enough for an evening, but perhaps not all day long. They wouldn’t be the bras I wear to work, but they would definitely be bras I would wear on a night out…or a night in.

So, after my twelve day rendezvous with Gossard, I am now convinced. They have really won me over…well almost. My few criticisms are purely about size. Why is it that they use a model who is at most a 28 band, or possibly something as small as 26 or 24, yet the smallest band available is a 30? If you compare my underbust to that of their models, it is clear we would not need the same band size. I would love for Gossard to factor in smaller bands and bigger cups, hopefully one day, my wish will come true!

Dear Gossard, thank you for the fabulous lingerie, and dear Simply Yours, thank you for choosing me!

Merry Christmas!

Love

Sophia xxx

21 comments

  1. Wow wow wow wow wow and wow.
    And agreed about the sizing x


  2. Wow u lucky girl enjoy they do look fab! Oh why oh why no H CUPS or bigger ! 😔 love the colours so sexy and fun !


    • Thanks Fiona! Yeah I really wish they would expand their size range – they’re an old company but still quite set in their ways it seems. Still, they do make some lovely undies! x


  3. Sophia, would you say the cups on the Fleur sets were as roomy as the Deco?


    • Hmmm, yes I would say they are. I wear a 30G in the deco as well. They aren’t similar in style (as the Fleur has less support and isn’t as thickly padded) but they definitely have a similar size. The band is a smidge tighter than the deco, but I still wear 30 in both. Hope this helps!


  4. Yep, it helps a lot, thanks 🙂


  5. Oh La la … Great review, Cheers!
    …by the way, wishing you a Happy New Year!
    a 2012 full of Sunshine, Happniess, Smiles and Fabuolous Bras & Lingerie
    Ciao dall’Italia, Greetings from Italy
    Aurè
    the Artist of Busty Pin-Ups


  6. Sophia–I just found your site and I just wanted to say thank you! I’ve recently been enlightened when it comes to bra sizes–it’s amazing the difference a proper size can make! You have opened my eyes to so many more stores I can buy from–I thought I was limited to the one in my city! I hope you have a wonderful 2012, and I’ve already favorited your blog and hope you keep writing!


    • Hi Carmela, sorry for the delay in replying – thank you for your lovely comments 🙂 x


  7. Oh, all those bras look so gorgeous. 🙂 Could I please ask for a comparision between Fleur and Superboost? I’m considering getting a superboost as they are multiway, atleast in some styles and I know that Fleur (and similar) fits me well enough in a 30G, but would a 30G Superboost do the same? Are they similar?

    I would really appreciate your help. 🙂


    • Hi Helena,
      The Fleurs have a bit more room in the cup, so I found that a cup size smaller was no problem. With the superboosts, they were much firmer bras, so I would’ve gone for my usual cup size (if it existed). The band sizes were roughly the same I’d say. If you are able to try one on, I’d say go for it, because quite possibly the 30G could still work. Let me know how you get on! 🙂
      Sophia x


  8. Hi, I’m totally in love with Ooh La La’s but cannot decide what size will be good for me. I’m rather petite (Gossard briefs or things in XS are sometimes a tad small for me) but wearing 28GG or 30FF. I have 94cm in my chest and 66cm below. Do you think I should go with 30FF or 30G?
    Anna xoxo


    • Hi Anna, I’d say they do run a little loose in the cup, so you may well be fine with a 30FF, but it depends on how you like the fit I guess. If you can get to a place to try them on that would be the best thing. I hope you find a size that works for you! 🙂 x


  9. How did you feel about the band on the plunge? I am having a tricky time with the Gossard Union Jack/Rose Print Plunge bra sizing. I ordered from Simply Be’s US site (I’m in the US), so the UK size conversion is throwing me off a bit in addition to my unfamiliarity with the brand. I ordered it in a 38DDD, my current US size, but the bra arrived in 38DD, which Simply Be considers the UK equivalent to a US 38DDD. (That’s the first time I’ve ever seen that particular conversion.) Anyway, I was spilling out of the cups even too much for a plunge and had some side overhang, plus the band was too high up on my back. I’m thinking of going down a band size and up two cup sizes in this bra. (I love it and want to find the proper size.) Any thoughts/suggestions?


    • Hi Candy, yes there isn’t such thing as a DDD in the UK, that’s the problem unfortunately. If you take a look at my post where I discussed Christina Hendricks bra size (who they say is a 38DDD) it might help you with sizing. https://sophiajenner.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/christina-hendricks-bra-size-controversy/
      Also, as for finding the correct size, measure under your bust, then measure over the top, and then use this calculator for the size. It should give you a fairly accurate guess as this calculator is one of the few that works and doesn’t use the +4 method: http://www.curvesandcorsets.com/uk_files/BraSizingCalculator.htm
      As to this bra in particular, I felt the band to be quite true to size, and found the cup slightly bigger than other brands – but, I imagine you find it small because as you say, it’s in the wrong size for you. x


      • Yes, I saw that post about Christina Hendricks and the 38DDD cup size. I actually do not think that it is unreasonable to think that may be around her size. As you say, that is not an actual size in the UK and all bras run different, so it is difficult to compare. Anyway, she has the right to keep all of that information to herself.
        As for me, I have a wide rib cage, thus I hover around a 36-38 band. In my current US bra, a 38DDD fits well, but it is a different brand and style. I’m thinking for this particular bra I have to vastly adjust my size. That bra calculator put me in a bigger cup size, and for this bra I would say it is a good idea.


      • Well regardless of her cupsize, she is most definitely not a 38 band. That means she would be a UK size 16/18, US size 14/16 around her waist, which she is definitely not – that already makes her size wrong. I personally think as a celebrity it makes her a bad influence to let young girls think that is her size, because that’s the reason why 80% of women do not even know what their size is because they are comparing to people like her.

        You could also try Butterfly collection’s calculator – they list both the UK size and the US size too: http://www.butterflycollection.ca/bra-size-calculator/
        You’re right, unfortunately the size can vary quite considerably with different brands – you just have to try them and work out what fits best.


      • Eh, don’t want to be contentious, but honestly I still disagree. I wear a 36-38 band because my ribcage is wide. However, my actual waist then narrows in significantly. I do not wear a US 14/16 in my waist because it is much smaller. I have a shape like Hendricks, so she could have a wide ribcage, too. (or maybe not) I also still think that even though she is a celebrity she has no obligation to reveal her size. She is entitled to privacy. People would still compare themselves no matter the case and keep getting the wrong idea. I don’t think most people really use celebrities as a bra size guide (at least I never met anyone who did). I just think Hendricks is a positive role model for loving her curves. She is an actress first and foremost, though.

        However, don’t want to be an ungrateful jerk and this was not the main point of my original question. So, thanks for your assistance! 🙂


      • Ok, perhaps I should have said more specifically, her ‘underbust’ is not 38, that much is obvious. Yes her waist is narrower, I wasn’t debating that.
        I also didn’t say she wasn’t entitled to privacy, but she should admit that 38DDD is not her size (if she even knows it’s not) – that doesn’t mean she needs to reveal her true size, it just might stop women getting confused. It is a known fact that the media is one of the major reasons why women do not know their correct bra sizes, so yes, celebrities do matter in that respect.


  10. Hi,

    Its a bit late to post here, but id like to ask if the competition is still going? And what kind of images one would send? I only get something like the more discrete and creative the better but I still don’t know what do they imply with that! Could you share what did you do? Or if you had the chance to see what others did?

    thanks!
    C


    • Hi, a lot of companies run competitions like this on their Facebook page. If you just keep an eye out, they’ll pop up eventually.



Leave a Reply

