h1

The Bettie Mae Bra

February 7, 2012

Lovely girlies, I’m back after the delay in posting – I have now finally moved house, and can return to having regular internet and consequentially regular blogging! ๐Ÿ™‚

A bra I bought just at the end of last year was the Bettie Mae bra by Bravissimo; the first padded plunge bra made by Bravissimo themselves. It comes in a much wider range than the deco which has been very well recived by bigger busted women. The band sizes run from a 28-38, and come in cup sizes ranging from DD-J which will definitely suit the smaller backed bigger busted of us out there, as well as many other difficult sizes.

The Bettie Mae Set

It has a very unusual colour, one which I wouldn’t normally go for, and something I might call a ‘burnt orange’. In real life, it is a very pretty bra, and has a slight sheen to it. It’s perfect for this cold winter with its warm glow,ย reminiscent of a warm cosy fire.

Bettie Mae - Bravissimo

It looks very shiny when using a camera flash, so I’ve taken a photo without flash so you can get a better feel for what it really looks like.
It’s lightly padded, so has a softer more squishy feel to it than a deco would, and the band has a bit of stretch to it. I would recommend perhaps sizing up one size in the cup, and choosing your smaller band size. I am wearing this in a 30GG, but I really feel a 30H would be more comfortable, as the GG gives me a little sideboob.

The plunge is quite nice because it gives a subtle cleavage, often the kind you might want for work. Not only that, but it’s a sexy bra too, and let’s face it, it’s not often you find a comfortable everyday bra that’s a gorgeous evening bra as well – a great mix.

The Bettie Mae also comes with the choice of briefs or a thong (I personally love the cute bow on the back of the briefs!)

The straps are fully adjustable, and the fit and comfort of it reminds me of Bravissimo’s Poppy bra (unpadded), and I would suggest that if you’ve tried the Poppy bra, that you will most likely be the same size in the Bettie Mae.

At the time the Poppy bra came out, I didn’t have the chance to review it – it’s actually a lovely everyday bra for me, and I wear it quite often. It’s an unpadded plunge bra, which is very soft, and very comfortable too. I also have this in a 30GG, but again, as with the Bettie Mae, I could really do with a 30H. The design is beautiful, and the black lace really works well against the beautiful poppy pattern.

Poppy Bra - Bravissimo

For comfort, Bravissimo bras are definitely 10/10.

Love

Sophia xxx

10 comments

  1. Hello Sophia,
    great you’re back! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really like your blog and the way you write. I come from Germany and unfortunately, bra sizes end up at D-Cup here. So I always have to buy bras online and can not try them in a store. Your pictures and reviews help me to find the correct models and sizes for me (I’m a 32FF/G, so quiet near to your size :)). Just wanted to say thank you for that!
    Love,
    Patricia


    • Hi Patricia, thanks for your kind words, and really glad I can be of help! It’s such a shame that there are so few shops with sizes beyond a D, I have friends in lots of different countries with the same problem, you’re not alone there ๐Ÿ™‚
      Love Sophia


  2. I would love to own this bra!! I have been eying Bravissimo for a while, but was hesitant on ordering international. Unfortunately, this is no longer available in my size. But now I know they make a bra similar to the Deco, which has never been available in my size. So thanks for the review! I’ll be watching for a similar bra on their site in the future.


    • Try the Satine bra? Bras I Hate says it is the same, just plainer!


      • Hi Laura,
        Yes, she’s actually told me that herself about them being similar. I haven’t yet had a chance to try the Satine yet, but I may do in the future, thanks ๐Ÿ™‚


  3. I really like the the look of the Bettie Mae. It seems that lots women like this style because my closet size is sold out.


  4. Hi Sophia,

    Have just stumbled upon your blog (through an article on Christina Hendricks!!) and I love it!

    I practically live in my local Bravissimo store, and it’s nice to know other “booby” girls notice things like celebs wearing sooo the wrong bra size etc! I often have a wee rant about such things ๐Ÿ™‚

    Looking forward to your next installment. Suz XX


    • Hi Suz, thanks for your nice comments! Yes, I often think about doing a second post on celebrities and bra sizes, but I worry about speculating so much without any concrete facts ๐Ÿ˜›
      Glad you like the blog, hoping to do my next post in a couple of days. x


  5. Hey we wear the same size , the ewa looks beautiful on you – do you find the profile a bit ” out there ” ? I love the front view and need a bra which brings them together without looking too projected from the side . I prefer a subtle side profile ( smaller the better ! ) how did you find it ?


    • Hi Jen – yes I do find many of their bras do ‘project’ forward somewhat. I don’t mind it too much though. ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

