h1

The Winter Blues

February 17, 2012

As some of you already know from previous posts, blue is my favourite colour. Blue clothes, blue shoes, blue ring, blue nail-varnish (blue hair if I could), and of course, blue lingerie.

In the cold weather, for me, blue is even more wonderful to wear. The child in me feels like a snow girl when I wear blue in the cold, so I’m always trying to get my hands on new blue bras.

I purchased two blue bras recently that I hoped could be great everyday bras this winter. The Flirtelle Vineyard bra (or possibly Viniard, because they have two different spellings on the Brastop website), and the Fantasie Elodie bra from Leia Lingerie.

So far I have loved the Flirtelle bras, the Sublime bra is made of very sturdy material and is a real winner for me. The Vineyard, while not so sturdy, was lovely in a completely different way.

Now, while the Sublime bra fits me best in a 30GG, I had heard that the Vineyard was a little tighter in the band. I decided that to be on the safe side, I would order a 32G. It’s good thing I did too, because the 32G fits perfectly.

Flirtelle Vineyard Bra

The bra is made of a lovely delicate mesh material all over (similar to the Freya Arabella), and has beautiful detailing on the cups. I loved it at first sight, the pale blue was just the sort of colour I had been looking for.

Flirtelle Vineyard Bra

It fit me the same way the Curvy Kate unpadded bras usually do, which is generally good if you are quite wide-set. It’s a very naughty but nice bra all at the same time – it looks cute and girly, but it’s also a little see-through; there’s no hiding what’s underneath!

Definitely a winner in my opinion!

Next we come to the Fantasie Elodie bra.

I absolutely love the fit of a Fantasie bra; they are really supportive and really beautiful at the same time. The Elodie has the same shape as many other Fantasie bras I’ve tried, and felt like a similar fit to the Sylvie bra that I have written about in the past.
Online, the colour of the blue Elodie bra looked gorgeous! I was really excited to get another lovely blue bra, especially a Fantasie one.

Fantasie Elodie Bra - Blue

Sadly, as great as the bra was, it didn’t look very blue in real life. As there is a grey version too, originally I thought there had been a mix-up, and I had received the wrong colour by accident. However, it soon became clear this was the blue version. Such a shame given how lovely the colour looks on their model version.

Fantasie Elodie Bra - Blue

The fit, as with most Fantasie bras, was great, and it is a beautiful and supportive bra. Fantasie bands generally run slightly looser, so I got this in a 30GG, which was a perfect fit. Unfortunately, I was after the kind of blue that makes me want to gaze at the bra lovingly all day, and this one just wasn’t it for me.

In the meantime, I’ll continue on my hunt for blue lingerie!

I’m planning to write a post soon about celebrities in badly fitting bras, whether they know their size or not, and how this affects the way society views larger sizes. If there is a celebrity that comes to mind when I say this, feel free to mention it in the comments below. I have no doubt there will be quite a few I haven’t remembered πŸ™‚ .

Love

Sophia xxx

19 comments

  1. OOH I’ve been after that first bra! It looks great on πŸ™‚


    • Ah thanks! Yeah it’s definitely a lovely bra. x


  2. Not a celebrity mention, but the Ryanair ad that recently caused a stir – almost all the women were in the wrong sizes! I know they’re not exactly aspirational or role models in any way, but it just adds to the argument, I think!

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2101386/Ryanair-advert-Red-Hot-Fares–Crew-banned-watchdog-online-petition-success.html

    Look at the gap under the first girl’s bra, and the band on the girl second from the left in the group shot.

    Still loving your blog, I’ve really need to try some Fantasie bras, I’m stuck on the new range at Marks & Spencer at the moment!


    • I think you’re right Shelley – most likely they’re not in the correct sizes. Unfortunately it’s proving a bit hard to get any decent pictures from that ad showing it, but I’ll keep looking, thanks! πŸ™‚


  3. Sophia, it appears that you were able to get a great fit in the Vineyard in your usual size. Does it run much larger in cup & band than the Divine or Sublime? I tried the Divine in my usual Freya size of 36G – & found it ran at least 2 cup sizes smaller than my Freyas, & was extremely tight in the band. I would love to find the right size Flirtelle.

    Also, I’m wondering if you find that they run the same as Curvy Kate, or whether CK run a bit more generous?


    • Hi Alicia, my usual size is 30GG, so I actually got the Vineyard in a band size larger than usual. I think it’s a similar band and cup size to the Divine bra, but definitely tighter in band and cup than the Sublime was.
      Both Freya and Fantasie are definitely looser brands though, so I’m not surprised you find them different, I do too. Possibly try a 38G/38GG?
      I found the Vineyard similar to some of the CK unpadded bras (criss cross/princess etc), but tighter than the Emily bra which is more generous. Hope that helps!
      Sophia


  4. Keep up the stellar work.


  5. Hi there πŸ™‚ I’m a 26DD really but I wear a 28D, and since I’m at the smaller end of the scale when it comes to brands that do smaller backs and larger cups (even though I’m not large at all!) I’m trying to find brands that tend to be tighter in the back and smaller in the cup. No success yet 😦 do you know of any brands that might suit my needs?


    • Hiya, it’s tough, I know a few girls with 26 backs (it’s more common than lingerie companies realise) and it can be a real pain finding a good fit. First of all, avoid brands like Freya and Fantasie, as they run looser in the bands. Panache, Masquerade and sometimes Curvy Kate can be tighter. La senza bras also have tight bands, but they’re not so reliable as a company. The absolute best place to get the perfect bra for you, is to order from Ewa Michalak. They are a polish company, and they can specially make 26 bands. The only difficulty is that they don’t accept returns for anything below a 28 band. Have a look anyway and see what you think: http://www.ewa-michalak.pl/ – click the union jack image on the top of the page to get it in English and with UK sizes. The bras cost between Β£25-35 usually, and I think a 26 band is a European 55. Hope this helps!


      • Thank you πŸ˜€ I’ve seen some of the Curvy Kate ones, they look so pretty! Might give them a try at some point. I’ve tried a Panache one before (I think it was the Cleo line) and the back was all right but the cup was huge, at least a cup size too big, maybe even more. Not sure if that’s common across the whole brand but I’ll see πŸ™‚


      • With Curvy Kate, it’s the unpadded ones that are tighter, beware of the paddeds, they are slightly looser (the ‘thrill me’ especially). Panache do vary with sizes, so it’s not necessarily like that in the entire range. Which bra was it that you found the cup huge in?


      • It was this one: http://www.bravissimo.com/products/sale/lingerie/sensational-sets/karina-bra/melon/cl34me/? it was a shame because it had such good reviews. If I could go down a cup size I would have.


      • Oh yes I see, well I know that a friend of mine had trouble with the sizing of that bra, but I haven’t tried it myself. You know, if you ever get stuck with a bra where the cups are too big, you can always buy some of those gel inserts for just a few Β£s on ebay. They are really useful πŸ™‚


    • I think the cups were too big for inserts to have been of any help really 😦 but oh well. I’m 18 so hopefully by my mid-20s I will have a grown a bit? Then it won’t be so much of a problem πŸ˜›


  6. I am a bit alarmed by how far back the wires are reaching on your Elodie. Just out of curiosity, do you think you could size down? I also see some emptiness in the front.

    Some reviewers say Elodie runs big in the cups, which is why I’ve been afraid to order one :/


    • It is precisely this sort of thinking that makes women think they have the wrong bra size. Every bra will look different on different women, because we are all different shapes. Brastop did a series of blog posts asking real women to send in their pictures of how a particular bra fit them, to see the difference on different shapes.
      http://www.brastopblog.com/compare-and-contrast-the-curvy-kate-tease-me
      http://www.brastopblog.com/compare-and-contrast-curvy-kate-emily-bra
      No the wires aren’t too far back – I have wide-set breasts, and there would be a whole world of sideboob escaping at the side if I sized down. And that emptiness you’re referring to is partly because my arm is lifted to hold the camera, partly because I have one breast slightly smaller than the other (also a common problem with lots of women), not to mention that the emptiness is only in the top half as I have bottom-heavy breasts.
      I found the Elodie very true to Fantasie sizing – so far I haven’t found much variation with their unpadded bras, which makes them a firm favourite of mine.


      • Also 30FF is two cup sizes smaller, and that would be miles too small. That is how this bra fits my shape, and I would have kept it had the colour been right.


  7. I am looking into to buying the Flirtelle Vineyard so i was curious about one) i wear a 28hh so since the band is tight should i purchase this in a 30h and two) what kind of fit does it give? Like pulled to the side, pulled in, or minimized? Also i love your blog!!


    • Hi Julia, glad you like the blog πŸ™‚
      Yes it’s a tight fit, but I am really a 31, so I can wear sometimes 30, sometimes 32. If you are spot on 28, you may still want to go for your usual size. It is quite wide-set, so if your shape is close set it, may not be ideal. The fit reminds me of the Curvy Kate unpadded bras if you’ve tried them. x



Leave a Reply

