h1

The Bra that Changed my Life: Flirtelle Sublime

April 3, 2012

As some of you may know, the lovely Kitty from Undercover Lingerista is holding a competition for the one year anniversary of her lingerie blog, and what a competition it is too. To enter, you need to write a blog post about the bra that changed you life. As soon as I heard about the competition, I thought about which bra really had changed my life.

It didn’t come to me straight away. I sat for a little while with a cup of tea and pondered the many bras I own. I sifted through my underwear drawer considering what each bra had done for me, what it had meant. My first thoughts were of my fabulous trusty deco bras, useful and brilliant for pretty much any occasion, but useful wasn’t quite what I was looking for.

The Sublime Bra

I thought back to the girl I was before I entered Star in a Bra last year, before I started writing this blog, before I knew what a well-fitting bra even looked like. There was only one bra that stood out in my mind like a beacon. Only one that despite not being my size anymore, I have still kept; the one I cannot bring myself to give away. As soon as I realised this I raced to go and dig it out…but alas, it was nowhere to be found. My heart absolutely sank, I couldn’t believe that I could not find it. My little moment of grief over the lost bra really showed me how important it was.

I did eventually find it; the Flirtelle Sublime bra – oh how I love you.
Of course I do have this bra in two other colours and sizes, because it is a staple in my wardrobe, and I would be lost without a version of it that didn’t fit.

Now let me tell you my story of the Sublime.

Flirtelle Sublime – Brastop

After joining a wonderful and private women’s group on facebook (about bras and clothes for a bigger bust), it was quickly pointed out by some very insightful women that I was wearing the wrong sized bra. I listened to everything these women told me, their suggestions of sizes and styles, of colours and brands – they convinced me to take a leap out of my comfort zone, and try a completely different size.
Being nervous of fitters and usually overwhelmed by lingerie shops, I decided to buy online, and bought three different sizes in the hopes that at least one would fit.

When they arrived, two of them were a bit hit-and-miss, but the one that fitted perfectly was the trusty and beautiful Sublime bra. Up until this point, I had never ever owned an unpadded bra before. Those of you who know about bras will understand that if you don’t know your correct size, it’s almost impossible to squeeze yourself into an ill-fitting unpadded, but very easy to squeeze into a padded bra, no matter what the terrible sizing.

I could not believe my eyes when I saw how well a bra could fit. The shape, the style, the COMFORT! The size was a 32FF and I had been wearing mainly 34 DD’s and E’s. I was so overwhelmed, that I didn’t take it off for the whole day. From then on, it was my go to bra. It’s a great everyday bra for work, it’s very comfy to lounge around the house it, and it looks cute too.

The first picture I took of the Flirtelle Sublime bra

After a quick rummage through my old photos, I stumbled upon the first picture I took of it; taken about 5 minutes after trying it on. I look at this picture, and still remember that elated feeling of happiness and relief at finally feeling like there were bras out there to fit me. I knew very little about bra sizes before this, especially when it came to my own body. I am still ever so grateful to the women of PAC (you know who you are) for pointing me in the right direction.

I don’t think any woman should feel daunted by the prospect of a bra fitting, but so many do, and I remember that feeling well. It has taken me a long time to get over that fear, but now that I’m on the otherside, I can see how important a proper fitting is, which in fact, was why I started this blog in the first place.

From wearing badly fitting bras and clothes, and feeling hopeless, to great fitting bras and feeling confident! Here are a few pictures to illustrate my bra-fitting journey.

Bra disaster – Uncomfortable – Perfect Fit – Comfortable

About 10 months or so after I discovered the Sublime, I wore it again to take some photos of the whole set. I realised that this bra I had worn and loved so much was getting really small for me, and it was probably time buy it in a new size.

Flirtelle Sublime Set – Chocolate

Just for fun I tried it on today when I finally found it…well I guess now it makes a good example of what a too-small bra looks like! πŸ˜›

Sublime – Chocolate – 32FF

I have a black version in a 30GG, which is my current size, and fits perfectly. It is a really sturdy supportive bra, and I highly recommend it (in addition to the fact that I love it regardless).

Sublime – Black – 30GG

I also have a white Sublime in a 30H from when I got a little bit bigger. It’s too big for me now as you can tell, but I keep it just in case.

Sublime – White – 30H

I will probably love this bra forever, for helping me become the woman I am today. The Sublime bra not only showed me the way forward, but has been with me through everything since. I know some people will say “it’s just a bra” but it’s more than just a bra to me; it’s a symbol of how far I’ve come. It was the making of the ‘me’ I am now.
I think that also means it’s time for me to give it away, to a better home than I can give it, and who knows, maybe it will help someone else as much as it has helped me.

If you have any bras you want to give away, remember you can donate them to one of Against Breast Cancer’s Bra Banks.

I really look forward to hearing about the other bras that have changed people’s lives! πŸ™‚

Love

Sophia xxx

17 comments

  1. Oh my! You were Goldilocks and the three bras, with one of them fitting perfectly.


    • Hehe Astrid, you make me laugh πŸ˜› xx


  2. You look amazing in the set


  3. wauw, you look great! what is your measurement around your ribcage, right under your breasts?


    • Hi Katrin, I measure 30, sometimes 31 (as my size fluctuates). I generally wear a 30 band, and occasionally 32.


      • Thanks for your answer. And what do you measure around like the breasts? πŸ™‚ hope you know what i mean, hehe πŸ™‚


      • I measure 39, which makes me a 30GG according to curves and corsets online bra calculator. It’s usually very accurate!


  4. I would love to know more about this facebook group. I’m a 34H or a 36GG depending on the brand. I went into a specialty lingerie shop and found and was fitted for the Panache Tango Plunge which I am in love with, it’s pretty, and even though it looks lacy, it looks smooth under tshirts. I’m also a fan of the Freya brand. I just came across your blog today and I am already loving it!


    • Hi Monica, if you are a fan of Pepperberry/Bravissimo on facebook, chances are one of the group admins will spot you and add you to the group.
      I love panache and Freya too, so I’m glad to hear you’re having luck with their bras! πŸ™‚


  5. Hi! I just ran across this blog for the first time today! This is a problem I have! I am a college student. I’m not sure where you are located, but it seems like the UK? I am in the USA, and I have no clue about size differences or how they transfer. But I have a question.

    I am about a dress size 6 in the USA (give or take, depending on the brand/kind of clothing) and I have been in Victoria’s Secret and been sized as a 32DD but I just don’t feel like this is right (the cups still seem way too small).I was wondering if you have any recommendations about where is a trustworthy place to get measured/sized, and where some good places to get bras and panties are that aren’t crazy expensive (money is an issue for me)

    Thanks!!


    • Hi Amanda, yes I’m in the UK, I’ll tell you what little info I do have about the US which hopefully might help. To get measured, I’ve heard the best place is Nordstroms. They generally also have bigger cup sizes and smaller band sizes too. Generally if you can’t find the size you want, if you ask them, they bring some out for you.
      As for bra size conversions, yes I get a little confused with UK to US too, but, I know a Canadian lingerie company that estimate your size and show the conversions. Try this bra calculator: http://www.butterflycollection.ca/bra-size-calculator/ – they are also a great company because they stock loads of different brands, and they do offer free shipping to USA.
      You just need to measure under your bust and around it to get the two measurements. Generally what you measure underneath will be your band size. Once you’ve worked out your size, another thing you could do is order perhaps from some UK companies like Brastop, Figleaves, Bravissimo, or possibly even Ewa Michalak in Poland – they are usually cheaper and they all ship abroad and accept returns (of course it depends on shipping costs I guess). I hope this helps. Sophia.


      • Nordstrom and Neiman Marcus are both great for this. I tried Intimacy but was not impressed. If you are in Manhattan, Bra Smyth is good too.


  6. I’m so glad I found your blog…I live in the U.S. and ever since I can remember have always had trouble finding the right bra. (I’m a 32FF UK size)The only place that ever seems like they SOMEWHAT fit is VS and they are so expensive. From what I’ve been reading it seems like the UK is the place to shop for more supportive bras. I was so excited when I visited brastop, and will be ordering from them very soon. Thank you for providing such great information and great reviews in your blog!


    • Glad to be of help Brea, let me know how you get on with the bras! πŸ™‚


  7. Hi!

    Yes, I understand you! A good bra can really change a life of a girl. (:

    Kisses from Azores!


  8. Great to see the bra bank mentioned. Against Breast Cancer are doing a fab job! All of us ladies should donate our bras for a very good cause πŸ˜€



Leave a Reply

