h1

Cake Maternity and Nursing Lingerie

February 26, 2013
Cake Lingerie

Cake Lingerie

As some of you may already know, the HB and I are expecting a little bundle this summer. Fear not my lovely readers, my blog will not become solely dedicated to writing about maternity and nursing lingerie, but at least you now know why I have been a little quiet as of late.

In the mean time, this does give me the opportunity to test out maternity & nursing products, and discuss the best options for a fuller bust.
This particular post is about Cake Lingerie, a company that started up in 2008 to design beautiful maternity and nursing lingerie of excellent quality. Not only that, but they do cater for the fuller bust with certain styles going up to a J-cup; a rarity in the lingerie world (even maternity lingerie).

I was fortunate enough to win one of their fab Facebook competitions which they currently hold every month (check out their page here), and was delighted to be sent the gorgeous Apricot Sorbet Nursing Bra and Brief set.

Apricot Sorbet Maternity Bra & Brief

Apricot Sorbet Maternity Bra & Brief

Since becoming pregnant, my size has been all over the place. You may remember from previous posts that my pre-pregnancy size was 30GG/32G – now it’s somewhere in the realm of 34H. I requested the Apricot Sorbet bra in a cup size up at 34HH, because being only halfway through my pregnancy, I am fully aware that my size will increase (again!) the closer I get to full term, and possibly more so after birth. 

Apricot Sorbet Nursing Bra

Apricot Sorbet Nursing Bra

The package was beautifully wrapped, and came with it’s own special ‘Cake’ fold-away bag. The first thing I noticed as I took out the set, was how amazingly well constructed it was, and how soft the material felt. The fabric is absolutely lovely, and the set fit very well (bra slightly on the big side as I had hoped).

Apricot Sorbet Nursing Bra & Brief

Apricot Sorbet Nursing Bra & Brief

The 34 band felt very nice and snug, and as I measure about 33ins underbust at the moment, I’m pleased to see it’s not going to get loose too quickly. Not only that, but there are 4 hooks with 6 levels of eyes to tighten it with, giving it a much longer life than your standard everyday bra. I absolutely cannot fault this set for comfort or support. It is beautifully detailed with lace panels, and has great snap-open sides for nursing. Whilst the bra is full-coverage, it doesn’t feel frumpy, and the straps aren’t so thick that they will show obviously under a sleeveless top.

Apricot Sorbet Nursing Bra

Apricot Sorbet Nursing Bra

I got the pants in a size XL which I think probably equates to a UK size 16. Again, just like the bra, they are made of a wonderfully soft and comfortable material – during pregnancy, that’s bound to be your main requirement from any lingerie.

This particular bra is an angelic pale apricot colour, and it also comes in Lavender Sorbet too. If you’re after something with a bit more eye candy, they do have numerous variations of patterns and colours. This Shortbread Maternity Bra especially caught my eye! Click here to see a range of their other styles.

Cake Lingerie is a brand I have never had an opportunity to test out before – it’s always unnerving trying a new brand when you perhaps feel more comfortable sticking with your old faithfuls. However, I can safely say my Freya and Panache maternity bras are nothing compared to this (much as I love those two brands as well).

I highly recommend testing this great company out, they are worth every penny, and I wasn’t at all surprised at all to hear they won the UK 2011 maternity brand of the year. I can see why!

Love

Sophia xxx

15 comments

  1. Im so pleased you’ll be posting about maternity and nursing bras! My baby boy was born in July last year and its been such a nightmare trying to find a supportive bra. Looking forward to more posts! Thank you!


    • Congrats on your baby boy!
      I hope my posts will be useful, I’ll be keeping an eye out for anything useful during this period!


  2. Congratulations!
    I never bothered with maternity/nursing bras and just wore normal u/w bras but made sure they fitted ok. I could never find one supportive enough for me, but then I hadn’t heard of the Cake brand.
    Looking forward to more maternity posts and congratulations again x


    • Thank you 🙂
      Yes I too was wearing regular bras up until very recently. Then the underwires started to dig in and I sort of gave up with standard bras in the end! It’s definitely helped me comfort-wise.


  3. Congratulations on your bundle to be. Hotmilk are also fab – sexy, pretty, comfortable and practical maternity lingerie.


    • Thanks Helen – I haven’t had a chance to try Hotmilk yet but I’m definitely going to!


  4. hey sophia…so happy for you… you a lil late in nursing bra post.. coz my baby is now more than a year 🙂 but it took me 3,4 month to find a good nursing bra…I am using Panahe Sophia :P. they have launched a nursing bra in your honors 🙂
    and hotmilk is also a good place to order.

    Tcz… Good health..


    • Thank you, and congrats on your little one 🙂
      I actually do have that Panache maternity bra. It’s a nice everyday one too!


  5. The apricot set looks lovely and certainly comfortable


  6. Hi! I just found your blog and I love it! I too am expecting (in October). I found your blog as I was searching for sizing info about Parfait bras as I just discovered some styles on sale at http://www.zulily.com/e/retro-merch-theme-wos-nb-47800.html?pos=1&ref=todays-events..
    I am a little confused as to what size I should order myself – I’m actually a little confused as to what my size is period – it seems that every brand and website has a different size chart. I can tell you that my underbust measures 31.5 inches and my bust is 42 in. You seem so knowledgeable abut this stuff I was hoping you could give me a suggestion. Also on the same site there are Cake Lingerie nursing bras on sale for $25-$35 if you’re interested. http://www.zulily.com/Cake-Lingerie
    I thought I should get some, but again – am very confused as to the sizing. Perhaps having tried the brand and knowing my measurements compared to your own you could make a suggestion?? Thanks for your time and good luck with the baby!


    • Hi Kelly, from your measurements, I would put you at a starter size of 32GG. Your most accurate size will depend on lots of factors, including breast shape and what brand you’re going with. Roughly most 32GGs will be similar, but there are of course a few slight variations between brands. Don’t trust online bra calculators unless you know it to be an accurate one. I would suggest using Butterfly Lingerie Collection’s online bra calculator as it is the most accurate I have found.
      The best thing to do is order (or try on if you get the chance), a few varying bras and sizes, and return anything that doesn’t work for you. I found cake lingerie slightly big in the cup and tight in the band if that is any use. A great product you might find useful during pregnancy is a bra extender. You can get them very cheap on amazon or ebay and it means that if your underbust increases as the baby grows, you can still fit into some of your bras, hopefully! They have been a lifesaver for me in any case.


  7. Congratulations on the bump. It is fascinating to read and see pictures of these maternity bras. I am not sure there are enough posts out there about nursing and maternity bras for big busted women so feel welcome to keep informing us.


  8. Just found your blog as I was searching for real-life reviews of the Cake Sorbet bra. Please please DO share more about your experiences finding adequate nursing bras for the busty gal! My preggo bust is currently a 36HH, and I cringe to think of what I will be able to find (rather, NOT find!) once the milk comes in. I am already trying to do research to find brands that have cup sizes that will fit me when the baby comes, but it looks as though there aren’t many options. Hearing about your experiences would be very welcome.


  9. Thank You! it’s a very much easier nowadays to find lingerie that fit with stores fitting services.



Leave a Reply

